The syntax for conditional comments

The syntax for conditional comments is as follows:

Positive
<!--[if condition]> HTML <![endif]-->
Negative
<!--[if !condition]><![IGNORE[--><![IGNORE[]]> HTML <!--<![endif]-->

condition is one of the following:

IE
Any version of IE
lt IE version
Versions less than version
lte IE version
Versions less than or equal to version
IE version
Only version version
gte IE version
Versions greater than or equal to version
gt IE version
Versions greater than version

version is the version of Internet Explorer, typically 5, 5.5, 6, or 7


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
<html lang="en">
	<head>
		<title>Test</title>
		<link href="all_browsers.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
		<!--[if IE]> <link href="ie_only.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"> <![endif]-->
		<!--[if lt IE 7]> <link href="ie_6_and_below.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"> <![endif]-->
		<!--[if !lt IE 7]><![IGNORE[--><![IGNORE[]]> <link href="recent.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"> <!--<![endif]-->
		<!--[if !IE]>--> <link href="not_ie.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css"> <!--<![endif]-->
	</head>
	<body>
		<p>Test</p>
	</body>
</html>
12 thoughts on “The syntax for conditional comments

  1. My spouse and i still can not quite feel that I could always be one of those reading through the important guidelines found on your website. My family and I are truly thankful for the generosity and for offering me the chance to pursue my own chosen career path. Many thanks for the important information I managed to get from your site.

  2. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute & assist other users like its helped me. Great job.

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  4. Hello! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any trouble with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing months of hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  5. A motivating discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you need to publish more about this subject, it might not be a taboo subject but generally folks don’t discuss such topics. To the next! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

